Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo


Set in Bardugo's "Grishaverse" (same world as her Shadow and Bone series), is this superb fantasy novel, 
Six of Crows. We starts in the port city of Ketterdam, where anything can be had for a price. Some of the town is upper class, but most of the story takes place in the seedier side of Ketterdam where the criminals lurk. One thief, Kaz, is offered a chance at a heist, what arguably could be called a suicide mission, which will make the him rich beyond anyone's wildest dreams. But he can't do it alone.

He enlists a small group of people: a convict with a thirst for revenge, a sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager, a runaway with a privileged past, a spy known as the Wraith, and a Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.


This story is told in the alternating voices of all six diverse characters. What is at stake is none other than the destruction of the world as they know it--but they don't all like or trust each other. Can they pull off this heist before they kill each other?

A page-turner, read this if you love plot twists and being on the edge of your seat. It's sequel in this duology is already out so try Crooked Kingdom after Six of Crows to get the whole story! 

Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction (2015)

Henry Holt and Company.  Sept 29, 2015. 465 pages. MS/HS.


Booktalk by Toni Weller.


Voting will take place each year from July 1 - December 31.




Fill out our contact form or email us at: 






  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • White Instagram Icon